Quite frankly, we could go on for the whole day on why Louisiana is a great place to travel or move to.
First, the food here is incredible. You can find pretty much any type of cuisine you’re in the mood for, and it’s all reasonably priced. Whether you want some good old-fashioned southern comfort food or want to spice things up with some Cajun flavor, you won’t be disappointed.
In terms of things to do, Louisiana has a little bit of everything. If you’re into the outdoors, there are plenty of hiking and camping opportunities in the state parks. For those who prefer a more urban environment, there are several large cities to choose from, each with its own unique culture and attractions.
The state has also a strong pull for tattoo enthusiasts. Louisiana is home to some of the best tattoo shops and artists in the country. So if you’re thinking about getting inked, this is definitely the place to do it.
Keep in mind, however, that the tattoos in Louisiana are regulated, just like in any other state. Stick with us for a few minutes as we dive into the latest tattoo laws in Louisiana – just to make sure you’re good to go.
Louisiana Tattoo Laws & Regulations
Akin to other regions of the US, the state has some tattoo rules both for the customers and the artists.
Let’s look into both now.
Tattoo Laws for Customers
Outwith some individual states who have laws on the placement of the tattoo (eg. Georgia prohibits tattooing within an inch of the eye socket), most laws are related to the minimum age required to get inked.
Louisiana isn’t any different in this aspect.
So you’re probably wondering: do you have to be 18 to get a tattoo in Louisiana?
Yes and no.
Legally speaking, you need to be 18 years or older to get tattooed in Louisiana. But there are a few exceptional cases where you can get tattooed at a younger age.
Can you get a tattoo at 16 in Louisiana, then?
Unlike some other states that completely prohibit tattooing a minor (eg. Iowa or Illinois), Louisiana allows for a person between the age of 16-17 to get inked if they can provide a written parental consent form. Additionally, the parent or a legal guardian needs to be present during the tattooing session.
In case the law is breached in this section, the whole blame, and the subsequent consequences, lie with the tattoo artist.
Tattoo Laws for Artists
The rules for tattoo artists in Louisiana are much stricter than the ones concerning customers.
Continuing from the previous section, the artist is wholeheartedly responsible if they tattoo a minor without the proper parental consent forms (and the parent being present). If found guilty, they can be fined up to $500 and/or spend up to one year in jail.
The above penalties are also applied in the case of illegal tattooing, meaning the artist is working without a valid license or from an unauthorized tattoo parlor. What’s more, tattooing from other places such as artists’ or clients’ homes, is also strictly prohibited.
Sterilization is extremely important when it comes to the procedure of tattooing and its safety, hence:
- all needles and tube sets must be individually sterilized before each use
- a new, sterile needle and tube set must be used for each client
- all non-disposable equipment must be sterilized between uses
It’s not like the artists only have rules to adhere to; they also have some rights. According to the Louisiana tattoo laws, the artists are allowed to:
- refuse to tattoo a minor, even with parental consent
- refuse to tattoo anyone who appears to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- refuse to tattoo any offensive or racist content
- refuse to tattoo a particular body part
In conclusion, as long as you follow the Louisiana tattoo laws and regulations, both as a customer and an artist, you shouldn’t have any problems.
Just remember to be of age, have parental consent forms ready (if you’re between 16-17), go to a licensed tattoo shop, and don’t get inked while under the influence.
The tattoo laws in the state of Louisiana discussed above are sourced from official websites of: