For many US nationals and foreigners alike, the state of Maine has a strong appeal for a plethora of reasons.
The state is picturesque, with its rocky coastline, lighthouses and uninhabited islands. The people are warm and friendly and the pace of life is slower than in most other parts of the country. There are plenty of activities to keep you busy, whether you enjoy hiking, fishing, boating, or simply exploring the many charming towns and villages.
Maine is also home to some of the best seafood in the world. Lobster, clams, mussels and crab can all be found in abundance here. If you’re looking for a place to enjoy fresh, delicious seafood then Maine is definitely the place for you.
Last but not least, Maine is known to be packed with incredibly talented tattoo artists and affordable tattoo shops. But before you roll up your sleeve (or pant leg) and head to a parlor in Maine, it’s important to know a few things about the state’s tattoo laws.
Stick with us for a few minutes as we take a look at the most recent tattoo laws in Maine, just to stay on the safe side.
Maine Tattoo Laws & Regulations
Maine is one of the US states that have pretty strict restrictions when it comes to tattooing. They can be divided into two groups: these for the clients and these for the tattoo artists (and shops).
Let’s see what the latest requirements are.
Tattoo Laws for Clients
Akin to most regions of the United States, the tattoo regulations for customers in Maine relate strictly to the minimum age requirement.
Unsurprisingly, tattooing a person under the age of 18 is illegal. However, unlike the vast majority of states that allow the process to go ahead with written parental consent or/and the presence of the parent or legal guardian (eg. California, Florida or Hawaii), Maine completely forbids it. In terms of the strictness of the tattoo law, it’s on par with states like Iowa and Illinois.
If you’re lucky enough to have found a reputable tattoo artist who is willing to break the law and tattoo you without parental permission, be aware that they are risking their business license and could get into a lot of trouble.
As of now, there are no rules for clients on the placement of the tattoo. The sky is the limit in this sense.
Tattoo Laws for Artists
The rules for tattoo shops and the artists working there are a little more complex.
First of all, in case the law is broken in a way that a minor is tattooed, both the artist and the shop he’s working at can easily lose a license. What’s more, there’s a risk of a fine of between $50-$500 and/or even a prison sentence of up to 6 months.
In other words, it’s not worth it to tattoo a minor without parental permission, even if they beg you and offer to pay more.
Furthermore, all shops are obliged to have a license in order to operate. The application process is pretty simple and can be done both by the owner and the artist.
The only other requirement for shops is that they maintain a clean and sanitary environment at all times. This includes regular sterilization of equipment, single-use needles, and so on.
While there’s a pretty long list of rules artists need to adhere to, they also have some laws. They’re permitted to refuse tattooing a person on some grounds, such as:
- if the artist believes the customer is intoxicated
- if the customer is underage (even with parental permission
- if the tattoo design is racist, sexist, or otherwise prejudiced
- if the artist isn’t 100% comfortable tattooing a particular body area
Maine has pretty strict tattoo laws, both for clients and artists. The most important thing to remember is that it’s illegal to get a tattoo if you’re under 18, even with parental permission.
Other than that, as long as you go to a reputable shop and artist, you should be fine. Just make sure to do your research beforehand!
The information collected in the article is based on official sources regulating the tattoo laws in Maine: