Georgia, oh Georgia. This particular state of the US is loved and appreciated for a plethora of reasons.
First of all, it has a rich and vibrant history that can be traced back to the very beginning of the nation. Secondly, its culture is unique and full of flavor. Finally, its people are some of the most hospitable you will ever meet across the country.
All of the above contributes to the fact that Georgia is a popular destination both amongst Americans and foreigners alike.
The state has also a strong pull for tattoo enthusiasts, as it is home to some of the best tattoo shops in the US that host extremely talented artists. Price-wise, compared to other states, it’s also very attractive.
Despite all the positivity, the tattoo laws in Georgia are one of the strictest in the whole country.
So, before you book that flight to Atlanta, make sure to stick with us for a couple of minutes to learn about all the rules and regulations.
Georgia Tattoo Laws & Regulations
Georgia has tattoo policies in place both for the customers and artists.
Tattoo Laws for Customers
As already mentioned, the regulations – compared to the majority of other US states – are pretty strict.
The strictness relates to the subject of tattooing minors. You might be wondering: can I get a tattoo at 17 in Georgia? Well, no.
The minimum age requirement in the state of Georgia is 18 years old. This means that no one under this age can get a tattoo, regardless of parental consent. There are a few states that will allow tattoos for minors if they have parental permission, but Georgia is not one of them.
An exception to the rule is when a minor needs to get a tattoo for medical reasons. In such a case, a note from a physician is required in order for the procedure to be carried out. Also, the procedure can be performed exclusively by a licensed osteopath or technician acting under the direct supervision of a licensed physician or osteopath.
In case the law is broken in this respect and a minor is tattooed without proper consent, the said minor is exempt from legal action as, according to the state, the whole blame lies with the artist.
Laws for Tattoo Artists
The rules are there to adhere to for artists as well.
So, do you need a license to tattoo in Georgia?
To legally perform a tattooing procedure in Georgia, the artist needs to have a valid license and work from a studio that is licensed as well. Under no circumstances can the person tattoo from their home or any other location that is not properly licensed.
Georgia has also a regulation relating to a place on the body where the tattoo can’t be done – and that is within an inch of the eye socket. Such a law was put in place to protect the customers from any potential damage that could be caused to the eye during the procedure.
When it comes to sterilization, the artist is obliged to use only disposable needles and sterilize all the reusable equipment. The law also requires the artists to wear gloves at all times during the tattooing procedure.
In case the tattoo law is broken by the artist, he faces a penalty of up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000.
A tattoo artist in Georgia is permitted to decline to tattoo a customer if he feels that the customer is too intoxicated or under the influence of drugs. It’s also absolutely fine to refuse a customer if they’re being rude or disruptive in any way, or they want an offensive tattoo.
The above information on Georgia’s tattoo laws was based on official sources, such as:
1 thought on “Georgia Tattoo Laws in 2022 (Age, Fines & More)”
If I’m a minor and get a tattoo in a different state what would happen would I get in trouble