Utah Tattoo Laws in 2023 (Age, Fines & More)

Utah is a state loved by many for a plethora of reasons.

The Beehive State is known for its expansive and beautiful scenery, outdoor recreation opportunities, small-town charm, and much more.

The last decade has also overseen a massive boom in the tattoo industry, with more and more people of all ages and backgrounds getting inked and the number of top-tier tattoo parlors increasing rapidly.

This increase in popularity has led to a corresponding increase in questions about Utah’s tattoo laws.

If you’re thinking about getting inked in Utah or starting a new career as a tattoo artist, here’s what you need to know about the state’s laws and regulations.

Utah Tattoo Laws

The fact that Utah regulates the tattoo (body art) industry isn’t anything unique – most states in the US with the sole exceptions of Maryland, Massachusetts and Nevada do.

Utah has separate regulations in store for artists and customers alike.

Utah’s Laws for Clients

For a person to legally get tattooed in the state of Utah, they must be at least 18 years of age.

However, Utah is one of many states in the country that allows for an exception to the rule in case the minor can provide a parental consent form.

If you are determined to get inked, below the magic number of “18” and have parental permission, you are legally allowed to get tattooed in Utah.

Currently, there are no laws regulating the allowed placement of tattoos in Utah. This means that you are free to get a tattoo anywhere on your body that you please, submit to the artist’s discretion of course.

Utah’s Laws for Artists

It’s essential to begin this section by underlining the fact that in case the law is breached and a minor is tattooed without parental consent, it is the artist that will be held legally responsible and not the client.

In Utah, tattooing a minor without consent form is considered a class B misdemeanor which means it can result in up to six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

Most importantly, the State of Utah requires all tattoo artists to obtain a license from the Department of Health before they can start plying their trade.

The same goes for parlors – they must be licensed before they can open their doors to the public. Akin to most states, parlors are the only permitted places of business for tattooing. Performing the procedure from home is not allowed.

Any tattoo studio in Utah can expect regular inspections from the DOH in order to maintain its license and keep operating.

Tattooing in Utah is also subject to the same general sanitation rules as any other body modification procedure. This means that all needles must be used only once and then discarded, gloves must be worn at all times, and the work area must be clean and tidy.

As for artists’ and studios’ rights, they have the freedom of choice when it comes to accepting or rejecting a client. However, they are not allowed to discriminate against potential customers based on race, religion, gender, or any other protected characteristic.

Frequent reasons behind a studio’s decision to reject a client include visible skin infections, being under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or asking for an offensive or hate-themed tattoo.

Frequently Asked Questions

Now that you’re more familiar with the relevant Utah tattoo laws, you might still have some unanswered questions. To round up, below we’ve compiled a list of the most frequently asked questions about getting inked in the Beehive State.

Where can I get a tattoo at 16?

There are many states in the country that allow minors aged 16 to get inked with parental consent. These include Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Nevada, and South Dakota.

Can u get a tattoo at 16 in Utah?

No, the legal age for getting a tattoo in Utah is 18. However, there is an exception for minors who have parental consent.

Can you get a tattoo at 17 Utah?

Again, you will need parental consent to legally get inked at this age.

Can a 13-year-old get a tattoo in Utah?

While there’s no clear rule specifying the minimum age for getting a tattoo with parental consent in Utah, most tattoo artists will refuse to ink someone so young. We recommend waiting until you’re at least 16.

Where are tattoos illegal?

As far as the United States are concerned, there are no federal laws banning tattoos. However, most states have restrictions in place.

Do I need a license to tattoo in Utah?

So you might be wondering: “what do I need to tattoo in Utah?” Well, the simple answer is – a license. All tattoo artists in the state must have a license from the Department of Health.

When should you not get a tattoo?

You should not get a tattoo if you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol, have a skin infection, or are asking for an offensive tattoo. You should also make sure you’re happy with the design before going ahead with it.

How much do tattoos cost?

The price of a tattoo will depend on the size, complexity, and location of the design. Expect to pay anywhere from $50 to $500.

Do tattoos hurt?

This is a difficult question to answer as everyone experiences pain differently. Some people report feeling only minor discomfort, while others say it was quite painful.

Conclusion & References

We hope this article has helped you better understand the current Utah tattoo laws. Remember, if you’re under 18, you will need parental consent to get a tattoo. And always make sure you’re happy with the design before going ahead with it!

If you’re a tattoo artist, you will need to get a license from the Department of Health. The same applies to parlors and studios.

The article you’ve just read is citing official sources such as: