New Hampshire has so many different things to offer that it’s no wonder it has a strong pull for people who live there and travelers alike.
The state has something for everyone, whether you’re looking to enjoy the great outdoors or take in some history and culture.
The Granite State, as its commonly known, has also plenty to offer for tattoo aficionados.
Not only are most of the artists based in NH extremely on point but there’s also a great variety of styles to choose from.
From traditional to a new school, black and grey to color, there’s bound to be an artist that will suit your taste.
With a vibrant and growing tattoo scene, New Hampshire’s tattoo laws include some important regulations regarding tattoos and tattooing.
Here’s what you need to know about getting inked or working as a tattoo artist in the state of New Hampshire.
New Hampshire Tattoo Laws & Regulations
When it comes to tattoo laws in the United States, with an exception of Maryland and Nevada, all the states have regulations in place both for the clients and those who perform the procedures.
New Hampshire is no different and its tattoo laws are designed to protect both the customer and the artist.
Let’s look into both sections now.
Tattoo Laws for Customers
Outside a small number of states that regulate the placement of tattoos (eg. Georgia), in general, the US states do not have any specific laws that tell the customer where on their body they can or cannot get a tattoo.
However, all states do have age limits in place and New Hampshire is no different.
The law states clearly that in the state of New Hampshire, you must be 18 years old or older to get a tattoo.
Now you might be wondering; can I get a tattoo at 16 in New Hampshire?
Well, yes. The Granite State is one of many that allow what is called a ‘parental consent form’.
With this form, those who are 16 or 17 years old can get a tattoo with the written permission of a parent or guardian.
The form must be signed by both the minor and the parent/guardian in front of the shop’s manager or the artist and it must be kept on file at the tattoo shop.
Such a policy makes New Hampshire a relatively lenient state when it comes to age limits for tattoos. In contrast, there are states like California, Iowa, or Minnesota that do not allow any tattoos for minors, even with parental consent.
Tattoo Laws for Artists
The state of New Hampshire has clear laws and regulations in place for those who wish to work as tattoo artists within its borders.
Since we’ve just discussed the subject of tattooing minors, it’s worth noting that in case the law is breached in this aspect, it’s the artist and not the client that could face consequences. These include suspension or revocation of their license.
First and foremost, you must be at least 18 years of age to work as a tattoo artist in New Hampshire. That is because eighteen is the minimum age requirement to start the process of obtaining a tattoo license in the state.
Amongst others, the process includes but is not limited to completing a bloodborne pathogens training course.
Needless to say, tattooing without a license is a serious breach of law and can result in a hefty fine or even a jail sentence.
Performing the tattoo procedure is allowed exclusively from licensed establishments and doing otherwise (eg. from the client’s apartment or hotel) is strictly prohibited and considered a misdemeanor.
The tattoo shop must also be licensed by the municipality it operates in and it needs to comply with all the health and safety regulations in place. These include:
- The shop must have a sterilization area that is separate from the tattooing area
- All instruments and materials must be sterile
- The needles must be used only once and then disposed of
- There must be a sharps container in which the needles are thrown away
- The shop must be clean and free of debris
The artists naturally have some laws, too. They’re allowed to refuse a tattoo if it goes against their moral convictions (eg. offensive design or inappropriate placement) or if they believe the client is too intoxicated.
Whether you’re trying to get inked or work as a tattoo artist, it’s important to know the laws of the state you’re in.
The above should give you a good starting point if you want to get a tattoo or work as an artist in New Hampshire. Just remember to always act within the law and everything will be fine.
All the information found in the article is based on official sources, such as: