Montana is one hell of a state to live or travel in.
With an average of only six people per square mile, it’s one of the most sparsely populated states in the US. And while that might not sound appealing at first, it actually makes Montana a pretty great place to visit.
There’s plenty of room to explore, and you’ll never feel crowded no matter where you go. And since Montana is home to some of the most stunning scenery in the country, that’s definitely a good thing.
The state has an equally strong pull for tattoo enthusiasts since it’s home to some of the best tattoo artists in the country. And with a wide variety of shops to choose from, you’re sure to find the perfect artist for your next piece.
But before you head to Montana for your next tattoo, it’s important to know the state’s laws on body art. In this article, we cover everything you need to know about the latest tattoo laws in Montana.
Without further ado, let’s go.
Montana Tattoo Laws & Regulations
Let’s have a look at both now.
Laws for Clients
A small portion of states regulates both the allowed placement of tattoos as well the age limit of the client. This isn’t the case in Montana however, as there are currently no laws dictating where you can and can’t get tattooed.
With that said, you must be 18 years old or older to get a tattoo in Montana.
But are there some exceptions to the rule? You might be wondering; can I get a tattoo at 16 in Montana?
If you’re under 18, you will need parental consent in the form of a notarized document. What’s more, the said document will have to be delivered in person by your parent or legal guardian.
Laws for Artists
What’s interesting, in the case when the law is breached and a minor is tattooed, it’s actually the artist who will face penalties and not the parent or the kid himself.
This includes a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 6 months in jail. In case the same situation occurs for the 2nd time, the fine can reach $1,000 and the license might get suspended or even revoked. So if you’re thinking about getting your teenager a tattoo as a birthday present, think again!
Naturally, for an artist to be able to legally perform the tattooing procedures, he needs to be licensed in the first place. The good news is that the requirements for getting a tattoo license in Montana are not as complicated as in some other states.
It goes without saying that the tattoo parlor needs to be licensed too, as well as be as clean and sterile as possible. One of the most basic requirements includes:
- the shop needs to have a separate room for performing tattoos, which has to be clean and free of any potential health hazards
- all of the tools used during the tattooing process need to be properly sterilized
- disposable needles need to be used for each individual customer
- the artist needs to wear gloves at all times
On the other hand, a tattoo artist or parlor has complete freedom of choice when it comes to the type of tattoos they are willing to do. There are currently no laws in Montana regulating the kind of tattoos that can or can’t be done.
However, there are some general guidelines that most artists choose to follow. For example, it’s generally considered unprofessional to tattoo someone who is intoxicated or someone that requires an offensive tattoo design.
In short, the tattoo laws in Montana are pretty straightforward and easy to follow. As long as you’re of age and have parental consent if you’re under 18, you’re good to go. And when it comes to the artists, as long as they’re licensed and use proper sterilization techniques, they can pretty much tattoo whatever they want.
For your information, all the laws discussed in the article are based on official sources: