Nebraska has so much to offer that it’s no wonder it’s appreciated by people who live there and tourists alike.
The state’s natural beauty, history, and cultural heritage all make it a great place to visit. And when you’re ready to show your love for Nebraska through body art, there are plenty of talented tattoo artists in the state to choose from.
However, before you can get inked up, it’s important to know the tattoo laws in Nebraska.
If you’ve been considering getting a tattoo in the state or maybe starting work as a tattoo artist, stick with us for a few minutes as we dive into the latest tattoo policies in the Cornhusker State.
Nebraska Tattoo Laws & Regulations
Nebraska isn’t any different from other states in the US in the sense that it has a set of rules for both clients and artists. The only exception is Maryland which doesn’t regulate body art at the state level.
The rules and regulations are put in place to ensure the safety of both the customer and the artist.
Let’s look into both sections now.
Laws for Clients
As far as the regulations for customers are concerned, most of them relate to the minimum age requirement.
Some states (eg. Georgia) also have restrictions on the placement of the tattoo but Nebraska doesn’t seem to have any of those.
The sole rule for customers in Nebraska is that they must be 18 years old or older to get a tattoo.
But are there exceptions? Can you get a tattoo at 16 in Nebraska?
The only way to get around this rule is if you have written parental consent from your parent or legal guardian. Unlike in some other states with stricter rules on the matter, the said caretaker isn’t required to be present during the session.
The above information plus the fact that some states completely prohibit tattooing minors (eg. Iowa or Illinois) means Nebraska’s stance on tattoos is relatively lenient.
Laws for Artists
One of the most important laws and responsibilities for artists is that it’s their duty to ensure that the client is of legal age. In case the law is breached in this regard, the artist may face charges even if the minor had fake identification.
This is why it’s always a good idea for artists to err on the side of caution and always ask for identification even if the person looks over 18. A penalty might come in a form of a fine (up to $500) or even a short jail sentence. Not really worth the gamble, is it?
Other regulations for artists mostly concern hygiene and sterilization as these are the areas that can lead to infections and other health issues.
The state of Nebraska requires all artists to:
- Use new, sterile needles for each client
- Use new, disposable razors for each shave
- Sterilize all non-disposable equipment
- Keep the work area clean and free of debris
This is to protect both the artist and the customer from any potential infection or disease that could be transmitted through unclean needles.
The other significant rule for tattoo artists in Nebraska is that they must have a valid body art license issued by the state. The same requirement applies, naturally, to all tattoo parlors. The so-called freelancing tattooing from homes and other unlicensed premises is a big no-no.
Working as an artist in Nebraska, you also have some rights obviously. Declining tattoos that are racist, gang-related, or offensive in any other way is your constitutional right and no one can force you to do such a thing.
The same goes for tattooing minors – you can refuse to do it even if the person has parental consent as it’s your right to choose who you work with.
As you can see, the tattoo laws and regulations in Nebraska are pretty straightforward. There aren’t any weird rules or anything that would make getting a tattoo in the state more complicated than it needs to be.
Of course, if you’re planning on becoming a tattoo artist, you need to get familiar with all the rules and regulations we’ve mentioned in this article. Other than that, just follow common sense and you should be good to go!
All the information included in the article is based on official sources: