Wyoming is a state with so many things to like about it.
The people are friendly, the scenery is beautiful, and the wildlife is abundant. And it’s no wonder that many people choose to get tattoos while they’re visiting Wyoming – the body art industry has overseen a massive uptick in popularity in recent years, with people of all ages and backgrounds getting inked up.
You’re in luck if you’re considering getting a tattoo in Wyoming. There are many talented artists to pick from. Having said that, there are a few Wyoming tattoo laws that you should be aware of before making the commitment.
In this article, you will find all the information you need in regards to Wyoming’s tattoo regulations, whether you’ve been thinking about getting tattooed or launching a new profession as an artist.
Wyoming Tattoo Laws & Regulations
It shouldn’t come as a surprise that “The Cowboy State,” as it’s known, regulates the tattoo business since the great majority of US states do so in some capacity.
Wyoming has different standards for tattoo artists and consumers, much as all states with laws in place.
Now let’s explore both.
Tattoo Laws for Clients
The majority of states concentrate on the minimum age requirement when it comes to tattoo rules for consumers. In Wyoming, you must be 18 years of age or older to acquire a tattoo, exactly like in all states that control the business.
You will be required to present a legitimate piece of government-issued identification, such as a driver’s license, passport, or state ID card, that attests to your age. Sadly, you won’t be allowed to get a tattoo if you can’t present one of these kinds of identification.
Akin to many other regions in the country, Wyoming allows for exceptions to the rule. If you’re under 18, you are still allowed to get inked with verbal consent from a parent or guardian. In this case, the individual providing consent must be present during the tattooing session.
In Wisconsin, there are no explicit rules on where tattoos can be placed. Many tattoo parlors, however, have their own restrictions on where they will and will not perform tattoos. Some tattoo parlors, for instance, might not tattoo someone’s neck, hands, or face.
Tattoo Laws for Artists
It’s only fair to open this section by stating that in case the tattoo law is breached and a minor is tattooed without proper parental consent, the tattoo artist will be fined.
In Wyoming, tattooing a person under the age of 18 is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $750 and/or a jail term of up to 6 months. In other words, it’s not worth the hassle!
Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, let’s move on to the requirements for becoming a tattoo artist in Wyoming.
Wyoming’s tattoo laws for artists are rather simple in terms of other rules. Both stores and artists must possess a Body Art Practitioner License, which must be obtained from the state.
Shops and artists must undergo a Wyoming Department of Health Services inspection in order to be granted these permits.
Only at a licensed body art facility is a licensed tattoo artist in Wyoming permitted to carry out the tattooing procedures. Mobile tattooing is prohibited and is also illegal.
All tattoo studios with permits are required to adhere to certain safety and sanitary standards. These include giving each customer brand-new, sterile needles and disposing of all used needles in containers that cannot be punctured.
Additionally, the business has to have an autoclave there to sanitize any non-disposable tools.
Wyoming tattoo laws indicate that an artist may refuse to tattoo anybody for any reason. This is in relation to the rights of people working in the business. They must, however, have a good faith justification for doing so.
An artist could decline to tattoo someone who is under the influence of drugs or booze, for instance. The tattoo artist may also refuse if the intended tattoo design conflicts with their moral or religious principles.
Frequently Asked Questions
After reviewing the fundamentals of Wyoming’s tattoo regulations, let’s respond to some frequently asked questions about the topic.
How old do you have to be to get a tattoo in Wyoming?
The legal age for tattoos in Wyoming is 18.
Can a minor get a tattoo in Wyoming?
Yes, if you’re under 18, you may still be tattooed with verbal parental consent. The parent must also be present throughout the session.
Do I need a license to tattoo in Wyoming?
If you want to tattoo people in Wyoming, you must have a Body Art Practitioner License from the state. You can only operate at a licensed body art facility as well.
Can a tattoo artist deny to do a tattoo?
Yes, an artist can choose not to tattoo somebody for any reason. They should, however, have a good justification for doing so.
Where are tattoos illegal?
As far as the US is concerned, there are no states where tattoos are entirely illegal. That being said, some states have more restrictions than others.
When should you not get a tattoo?
You should not get a tattoo if you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Additionally, pregnant women and people with diabetes should avoid getting tattoos.
Are there any tattoo shops that tattoo minors near me?
You should use Google Maps to find the closest tattoo shops to your location. Just remember that most tattoo shops will not tattoo minors without parental consent.
Can you get a tattoo at 15 with parental consent?
While Wyoming doesn’t specify the minimum age a minor can get inked with parental consent, many tattoo artists will find it morally objectionable to tattoo someone so young. We recommend waiting until you’re a bit older.
What states can you get a tattoo at 14?
Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii and Indiana are examples of other states that don’t regulate the minimum age requirement for minors that can provide a parental consent form. With that said, some artists will still refuse to tattoo anyone that young, so it’s best to call ahead.
Conclusion & References
Looking at the overall picture of the tattoo industry in the US, Wyoming’s rules regarding tattoos are fairly standard both for clients and tattoo artists. Neither party should encounter any issues if you’re of legal age (or come with a parent/guardian) and getting a tattoo from a licensed artist at a licensed venue.
The material in the article you just read comes from official sources: