The number of people with tattoos has clearly increased, and as a result, governments throughout the world have been obliged to relax their anti-tattooing laws.
This means allowing tattoos for persons of all ages in certain cases and placing age limitations in others.
Each state in the United States has its own set of laws governing tattoos and minors. With parental consent, some jurisdictions permit teenagers as young as 14 to have tattoos, while others demand that children wait until they are 18 to get inked.
If you’re a minor in Iowa considering getting your first ink job done, you’re probably interested in the current tattoo age laws in the state. You’re also in the perfect spot.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Get a Tattoo in Iowa in 2022?
Unfortunately, if you’re still under 18, you probably won’t find the following regulation amusing:
Right now, getting a tattoo in Iowa is completely forbidden for anybody under the age of 18. There are no exemptions for parental consent or any other circumstance. So even if your parents approve of you getting tattooed, it’s still against the law.
Simply said, you must wait till you are 18 years old. You may acquire a tattoo after reaching legal age without running afoul of the law.
Unquestionably, “The Hawkeye State,” as it’s called, has one of the nation’s harshest tattoo rules, if not the harshest.
However, bear in mind that these regulations are susceptible to change at any time, so it’s always a good idea to check with your local body art shop or an attorney before giving up on the idea altogether.
Try Your Luck in Neighboring States
If you’re willing to travel a bit, there are some states that will let you get a tattoo if you’re between 14 and 17 years old, provided you have parental permission.
South Dakota, for example, has no minimum age requirement as long as you have the permission of a parent or guardian.
The same goes for Nebraska, where minors can get tattoos as long as they have written parental consent.
This is also true in Wisconsin where the age limit is also 18. But, if you’re between 16 and 17 years old and have written parental consent, you can still go ahead and get tattooed.
So, as you can see, the laws on teenagers getting tattoos vary from state to state.
Artist Has the Final Say
Keep in mind that even if you travel to a state with less stringent age regulations, the artist ultimately decides whether or not to tattoo you.
In other words, even if you match the state’s criteria, they can lawfully refuse to give you a tattoo if they believe you are too young. So don’t be shocked or insulted if a tattoo artist refuses you.
They may reject tattooing anyone under the age of 18 for a multitude of reasons, such as personal beliefs, parlor policy, and so on.
Calling around and asking questions is the greatest approach to reduce irritation and lost time! Some tattoo shops may have a policy against tattooing children, while others may be open to it on a case-by-case basis.
Is Getting a Tattoo Under 18 a Good Idea?
Tattoos are permanent; once inked, they’re there for good (unless you can afford an expensive and ultra-painful laser removal).
Consider whether you’re certain about the design, placement, and, most importantly, whether you’re certain about getting a tattoo for the rest of your life before making such a huge decision.
It is unusual for people who get tattoos while they are young to come to regret their decision later in life. So, if you’re not sure about getting a tattoo, maybe wait a few years.
In the meantime, you may get a temporary tattoo or henna tattoo to tide you over until you are 18 and can get the real thing!