Idaho is loved by many for a variety of reasons. The state is home to some of the most beautiful scenery in the country, boasting mountains, rivers, and forests that are perfect for outdoor enthusiasts.
Additionally, it’s also a hotspot of ridiculously talented tattoo artists and parlors.
With the growing acceptance of tattoos in society, it’s no wonder that the industry is booming in Idaho and that a growing number of young people are interested in getting inked.
However, before you rush out to your nearest tattoo parlor, it’s important to know the legal age for getting a tattoo in Idaho – just to make sure you err on the right side of the law.
So, How Old Do You Have to Be to Get a Tattoo in Idaho?
The fact that the Gem State, as it’s commonly known, has requirements regarding the minimum age to get a tattoo is far from uncommon – most US states do. This is to protect minors from making a decision that they may later regret.
Idaho’s tattoo laws are very clear on the matter. In order to legally get a tattoo, you need to be at least 18 years old – something that is also required in all the neighboring states (in case you’re thinking about crossing the border to get inked).
Luckily for all the tattoo-mad minors in Idaho, exceptions can be made to the rule. The state is one of many that allows folks under the age of 18 to get their ink work done as long as they can provide written parental consent.
Unlike many other regions in the country, Idaho doesn’t require the parent (or the legal guardian) to sit in on the tattoo session – although, of course, this is always an option.
Additionally, it’s worth noting that some tattoo parlors in Idaho (and other states with similar laws) may have their own rules regarding parental consent. So, even if you’re of age to get a tattoo in Idaho, it’s always best to check with the establishment before making any decisions.
With that being said, even if you do have your parents’ permission to get a tattoo, it’s important to remember that this is a permanent decision and shouldn’t be made lightly. Tattoos are cool, but they’re not for everyone – so think long and hard before taking the plunge!
Can You Get a Tattoo at 16 in Idaho?
Yes, the parental consent form “rule” allows minors aged 16 to get legally inked.
Can you get a tattoo at 14 in Idaho?
The same answer applies – if you have your parents’ permission and they’re willing to sign the form, then you can get tattooed at 14 years old. Bear in mind, however, that 14 is pretty young and that tattoos are a big decision.
What’s more, some tattoo artists might feel uncomfortable tattooing someone so young, regardless of parental consent, and may refuse to do so. So, it’s always best to check with the parlor beforehand.
The information collected above is based on official sources, such as: