Hawaii is such an amazing and popular tourist destination, and many people want to get a tattoo while they’re here on vacation. In fact, it’s not any different for those who are lucky enough to be residents!
But there are some things you need to know before getting inked in Aloha State.
Akin to the vast majority of states in the US, the state of Hawaii has tattoo laws that need to be followed to make sure the experience is as safe and enjoyable as possible – and you don’t find yourself in trouble with the law.
In this article, we will be looking at the minimum age requirement to get inked in Hawaii.
So, How Old Do You Have to Be to Get a Tattoo in Hawaii?
As things stand, the Hawaii tattoo regulations prohibit people under the age of 18 from getting a tattoo.
However, not all hope is lost if you haven’t hit that magic number “18” yet and are desperate to get your first ink. Hawaii’s tattoo laws for minors allow for exceptions to be made in certain cases, with written parental or legal guardian consent.
This means that if you’re under 18 and want to get a tattoo in Hawaii, you’ll need to bring along a parent or guardian who is over the age of 18 and can give them permission for you to go ahead with the procedure.
Hawaii does not mandate the presence of the legal caretaker during the tattooing procedure, in contrast to many other states. In light of this, the tattoo artist may (and should) request identification from both the client and the parent or legal guardian to make sure everything is legal.
Can You Get a Tattoo at 16 in Hawaii?
Yes, you can – but only with parental consent, as we just mentioned.
While this may seem like a bit of an inconvenience if you’re eager to get inked as soon as possible, it’s actually a good thing.
The age limit exists to protect minors from making a decision that they could later regret. Tattoos are permanent, after all, and it’s important to think carefully about what you want before going ahead with the procedure.
Can a 13-Year-Old Get a Tattoo in Hawaii?
No, the minimum age at which minors can get inked in Aloha State with parental consent is 14.
This is in line with the age limit for most other types of body modification procedures, such as piercings.
The general consensus is that 14-year-olds are old enough to understand the implications of getting a tattoo and to make an informed decision about whether or not it’s right for them.
Of course, every case is different, and some 13-year-olds may be more mature than others. If you’re a parent or legal guardian who feels that your child is ready for a tattoo, you can always consult with the tattoo artist to see if they’re willing to make an exception.
Here it’s worth noting that the final decision on whether the artist goes ahead with the tattoo is up to him. It’s not unusual for some artists to decline tattooing minors at all – with parental consent or not.
The above information on the tattoo laws for minors in Hawaii is based on trusted sources, such as: