Idaho is unique and beautiful at the same time. There’s a myriad of reasons why many people decide to move or travel there – whether US nationals or foreigners.
From the snow-capped mountains, verdant valleys, rushing rivers, and pristine lakes, to the huge open spaces and unending hiking trails, Idaho has something for everyone.
Idaho is also a great place to live if you’re looking for a slower pace of life. It’s one of the least densely populated states in the US, so you’ll have plenty of room to breathe. And, if you’re looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, Idaho is the perfect place to do it.
Last but not least, Idaho is home to many talented tattoo artists and affordable tattoo parlors. Hence, it’s a popular destination for people looking to get inked.
Another incentive for tattoo enthusiasts is the pretty relaxed tattoo regulations, compared to other US states, on who can and cannot get inked in Idaho.
If you’ve been considering getting your next (or first) tattoo in Idaho, continue reading. Below we will look at the latest tattoo laws in Idaho.
Idaho Tattoo Laws & Regulations
Akin to all regions in the United States, Idaho has separate tattoo rules for clients and customers.
Tattoo Laws for Clients
As already mentioned, Idaho has a pretty lenient set of tattoo laws – especially for those who want to get inked.
Granted, to get a tattoo without any hassle you need to be at least 18 years of age. You will also need to provide a valid form of identification that has your date of birth, such as a driver’s license, passport, or state ID card.
However, if you’re not quite 18 years old yet but still desperate to get a tattoo, you can do so with parental consent. In this case, both you and your parent or guardian will need to provide a valid form of identification. You will also need to sign a minor’s release form that gives the tattoo artist permission to go ahead with the tattoo. The form must be signed by a parent or guardian in the presence of the artist.
However, the age at which you can get your first ink with parental approval is the lowest in the country – 14. So, if you’re between 14 and 17, and your parent or guardian is okay with it, you can get a tattoo in Idaho.
Tattooing anyone under 14 is strictly prohibited and results in fines. With that said, the only part facing persecution, in this case, is the tattoo artist – not the minor or their parent/guardian.
Tattoo Laws for Artists
Failing to comply with the tattoo age laws in Idaho can result in some serious consequences for tattoo artists. Not only will they be fined (up to $500), but their tattoo license could also be suspended or even permanently revoked.
So, if you’re a tattoo artist in Idaho, make sure you always check your client’s identification to ensure they are of age. If they’re not, you could be the one facing the consequences – not them.
Anyone that wants to legally perform the art of tattooing in Idaho needs to be licensed and follow the rules set out by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare. Amongst many, the regulations state that the tattooing procedure needs to be performed in a clean and licensed tattoo studio. Inking from home and other unlicensed tattooing venues is strictly prohibited.
The studio must also have an autoclave to sterilize all the equipment before each use. And, all needles need to be used once and then disposed of in a sharps container.
Tattoo artists are also required to wear gloves while tattooing and must wash their hands thoroughly before starting the procedure.
Tattoo artists have the right to decline a tattoo in case it goes against their moral compass. That’s, for example, when:
- The tattoo is gang-related
- The tattoo is discriminatory or contains hate speech
- The tattoo is racist, sexist, or homophobic
- The artist isn’t comfortable with tattooing a particular body part
- The artist suspects the client is intoxicated
The information collected above is based on official sources, such as:
1 thought on “Idaho Tattoo Laws in 2022 (Age, Fines & More)”
Where did you find that a license and a health department inspection is required in Idaho? I can’t find that information on either source listed.