Many people chose to move or travel to Oregon for a variety of reasons.
Whether it’s the diverse and gorgeous scenery, the laid-back and friendly people, or the thriving economy and job market, there’s something for everyone in Oregon.
The Beaver State, as it’s often referred to, is also home to a booming tattoo industry. With plenty of talented artists to choose from, it’s no wonder that Oregon is becoming a tattoo destination.
If you’re thinking about getting a tattoo in Oregon or starting work as an artist, there are a few things you should keep in mind.
Oregon, like most US regions, regulates the tattoo industry to protect public health. These laws and regulations can vary from state to state, so it’s important to familiarize yourself with the rules before getting started.
Let’s now look into the latest tattoo laws in Oregon.
Oregon’s Tattoo Laws & Regulations
There are separate sets of laws for tattoos for those who want to get inked and those who perform the procedure.
Let’s look into both now.
Laws for Customers
Oregon isn’t any different from other states when it comes to the age limit for tattoos.
You must be 18 years old or older to get a tattoo in Oregon, and you will need to show a valid form of ID to prove your age.
But are there any exceptions? Do you have to be 18 to get a tattoo in Oregon?
Well, it’s possible to legally get inked even if you’re a minor.
Oregon is one of many states that allow minors to get tattoos with parental consent. If you’re under 18, you’ll need to have your parent or legal guardian sign a consent form before getting tattooed.
The form must be signed by both the minor and the parent/guardian in the presence of the artist, and it must be kept on file at the shop.
As of now, there are no policies regulating the placement of tattoos, meaning that you can get a tattoo anywhere on your body that you want.
Laws for Artists
It’s only fair to begin discussing the artists’ laws by stating that – in case the law is breached and a minor gets tattooed without parental consent – it is the artist who will be held accountable, not the minor or their parents.
Inking a minor in the state of Oregon is considered a class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.
In other words, it’s a serious offense and one that you want to avoid at all costs.
If you’re thinking about becoming a tattoo artist in Oregon, you’ll need to get licensed by the state. The process of obtaining a license is overseen by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA).
To qualify for a license, you must be at least 18 years old and have completed an accredited tattoo program.
Tattooing is only allowed from parlors that also need to have a valid business license.
The parlor must also follow certain health and safety regulations, such as using sterile needles and single-use ink containers.
A shop can expect to be inspected by the OHLA at least once a year to make sure that it is following the required regulations.
To sum up, Oregon has fairly standard tattoo laws and regulations. If you’re thinking about getting a tattoo, you must be at least 18 years old. If you’re under 18, you can still get inked with parental consent.
And if you want to become a tattoo artist in Oregon, you’ll need to get licensed by the state and follow certain health and safety regulations.
Keep these laws in mind and you’ll be sure to have a positive tattoo experience in Oregon.
The article you just read is based on official sources: