The number of reasons why it’s a great privilege to live or travel to Connecticut is pretty much endless. From the incredible natural beauty and diverse wildlife, to the rich history and culture, there’s something for everyone in this charming state.
One of the best things about Connecticut is its stunning natural scenery. From the rolling hills of the Litchfield countryside to the rocky coastline of Mystic, there’s no shortage of beautiful places to explore. Whether you’re looking for a place to hike, bike, or just take a leisurely stroll, you’ll find it in Connecticut.
In addition to all of this, it’s hardly a secret that Connecticut has plenty in store for tattoo enthusiasts. The state is home to some of the best tattoo artists in the country, and there are plenty of great shops to choose from. If you’re thinking about getting a tattoo, Connecticut is definitely the place to be.
With that said, not everyone is eligible to get inked in the state. Like all other regions of the US, there are certain tattoo laws in Connecticut that need adhering to.
If you’re considering your first (or next) ink job in the state, stick with us for a moment to find out if you can do so legally.
Connecticut Tattoo Laws: What You Need to Know
Fortunately, Connecticut has pretty relaxed laws when it comes to tattoos. Like in other states, there are regulations both for clients and artists.
Tattoo Laws for Clients
Like most states, it prohibits tattooing minors (people under the age of 18). However, if you’re a person that hasn’t hit the magic number “eighteen” yet, you don’t have to worry much – as long as you’re not hiding your plans from your parents.
The state of Connecticut allows minors to get the ink work done if they can provide written consent from their parents or legal guardians. Fortunately for you (and them), the caretaker isn’t required to sit through the session (some other states require it).
In case of breaking the law in this field, the client doesn’t face any penalties as the whole blame lies on the artists. When caught, he can get fined $100, get imprisoned for up to 90 days, or both. Ouch.
Tattoo Laws for Artists
All artists performing the procedure of tattooing in the state of Connecticut need to be licensed.
What’s more, the work has to be done in a clean and sterile environment, which means that the shop needs to be licensed as well. Tattoo sessions in homes and other unlicensed places are strictly prohibited.
As already mentioned, the artist should refuse to tattoo a minor, unless he can provide written parental consent.
As a tattoo artist, you also have the right to refuse to do the job if the requirements of the client, such as the tattoo design or the placement of the tattoo, go against your moral compass or simply make you feel uncomfortable. Additionally, it’s absolutely fine to decline the session in case the client behaves badly or is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
The above information on Connecticut tattoo laws was sourced from: